Frequently asked questions

General questions about the event offer

Yes, our services are free of charge. However, they are primarily limited to migrant students and graduates of Frankfurt University of Applied Sciences, Goethe University Frankfurt, Darmstadt University of Applied Sciences, RheinMain University of Applied Sciences and Darmstadt Technical University. Darmstadt University of Applied Sciences, RheinMain University of Applied Sciences and Darmstadt University of Technology. Migrant students of the Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz can participate in offers that are not fully booked.

The offers are primarily aimed at migrant students of the Frankfurt University of Applied Sciences, Goethe University Frankfurt, Darmstadt University of Applied Sciences, RheinMain University of Applied Sciences as well as Darmstadt University of Technology. Migrant students of the Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz can participate in offers that are not fully booked.

Migrant students are students who were born abroad and immigrated to Germany and/or students who have at least one parent who was born abroad and immigrated to Germany and/or whose family language is not German. and/or whose lingua franca in the family is not German.

The International Career Service Rhine-Main is supported by a funding program called "Utilizing International Potential - Shaping Transitions from Study to Work" of the Hessian Ministry of Science and the Arts (HMWK) within the framework of the European Social Fund. Arts (HMWK) within the framework of the European Social Fund. Within the framework of the program, primarily students with a migrant background are to be from the mentioned universities are to be supported.

If the courses are not fully booked, participation is also open to non-migrant students. After your registration you will first be put on the waiting list. Depending on the place on the waiting list and available capacities, we will admit you shortly before the workshop starts. Please note that students from the partner universities will also be given priority.

The decision to hold our events online is based on several considerations.

On the one hand, we are a network of five different universities. Online formats enable equal participation for students at all locations.

Second, experience during the Corona pandemic has shown that online formats are positively received by many students. Not only do they offer flexibility in terms of where they can participate, but they also allow for a better balance with other commitments such as work or study. It also allows us to invite a broader range of speakers who otherwise would not have been able to participate due to geographical distances. This allows us to offer a more diverse and higher quality program.

Logon / logoff and binding

Yes, your registration is binding. With your registration we assume that you will keep the date of the event free and that you will be digitally present on the day of the event. This also applies in the event that you are currently on the waiting list. If you are unable to attend an event, you must cancel your registration at least 6 days before the event begins.

Yes, please cancel your registration, even if you are at the back of the waiting list. The waiting list is a tool to enable interested latecomers to participate in the workshop. Our experience shows that many cancellations are received, especially in the last two weeks before the start of the event. Accordingly, it is often possible to move up from the back of the waiting list. Even if you move up, you are still subject to the This means that if you subsequently slip into a course and do not show up afterwards, we will block you from the course program for one semester.

Our experience shows that most of the time one of the following three problems is the source: The registration confirmation and notification emails are in the spam folder of your email inbox. You have not finalized the registration, i.e. after clicking on "register" you have to confirm ("submit") the given data again. If both problems can be ruled out, you may have entered an incorrect e-mail address when registering. during the registration process. In this case please send us a short email (info@ics-rm.de).

In all mails from us you will find unsubscribe links for the events. You can unsubscribe via the link up to six days before the start of the event. After the end of the cancellation period you can only cancel your registration individually by mail (info@ics-rm.de) to us. For the cancellation there must be a valid reason (e.g. illness). must be available.

Participation in an event is only meaningful for you if you are present for at least 75 percent of the event time. If you cannot guarantee this, please cancel your participation in the event. from the event. We ask that you arrive on time on the day of the event so that the event can begin as scheduled. In addition, if you show up late, you will forfeit your right to a seat.

Please send us an email (info@ics-rm.de) in a timely manner, indicating the workshop (title and event date!) and your name, so that we can process your cancellation.

Basically you have to cancel your registration up to six days before the event starts. In case of emergency, please send us an e-mail (info@ics-rm.de) with the (title and date of the workshop!) as well as your name, so that we can cancel your registration. We will then give your place to someone on the waiting list.

Probably you were banned because you missed a workshop without excuse. If you can't understand the reason for the ban, please send us a short email ( info@ics-rm.de).

We receive a lot of unsubscribe emails from students. Your unsubscribe email will be noted by us and you will then not be added to the blacklist. Please understand that we do not reply to every unsubscribe mail individually. individual feedback to every unsubscribe mail.

Essentially, the blacklist exists for two reasons: We want to ensure fairness and make the best use of our resources.

If students do not show up for workshops and lectures - despite registration - persons on the waiting list no longer have the possibility to move up to the event later. Especially against the background that often there are many registrations for an event, we feel that an unexcused absence is highly antisocial towards other students.

Our events can be attended by students free of charge. However, we do incur expenses because we pay the speakers' fees. In cooperation with companies, there are often additional additional costs for catering. We therefore strive to achieve the best possible utilization of our workshops.

A majority of students behave very thoughtfully and understand why we use a suspension procedure. We sincerely hope that you understand as well.

After the workshop

Certificates are usually sent to participants by mail in PDF format within one to two weeks after the event. If you have the impression that this has been forgotten, please send us an an e-mail (info@ics-rm.de). Please note that in order to receive a certificate of attendance, you must have at least a 75% attendance rate.

If you would like confirmation of your participation in a one-day workshop, please send us an email (info@ics-rm.de).

Due to the large number of workshops in our program, there may be delays in sending presentations. We ask you for a little patience. In some cases, we are not aware of the arrangements between course leaders and participants. If you have the impression that the transmission of the presentation was forgotten, please send us an e-mail ( info@ics-rm.de). We will then contact the presenters.

Your feedback is very important to us and we will treat your request confidentially! Praise and criticism are important tools for us to improve our services. Feel free to contact the International Career Service team to share your experiences with us ( info@ics-rm.de).

Unfortunately, we cannot answer this question. There are different regulations in each department and university with regard to the creditability of our courses. A competent contact person for these questions is your responsible examination office.

Frequently asked questions

Allgemeine Fragen zum Veranstaltungsangebot

Ja, unsere Angebote sind kostenlos. Sie beschränken sich aber primär auf Studierende und Absolvent*innen mit Zuwanderungsgeschichte der Frankfurt University of Applied Sciences, Goethe-Universität Frankfurt, Hochschule Darmstadt, Hochschule RheinMain sowie der Technische Universität Darmstadt. Studierende mit Zuwanderungsgeschichte der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz können an nicht vollständig ausgebuchten Angeboten partizipieren.

Die Angebote richten sich primär an Studierende mit Zuwanderungsgeschichte der Frankfurt University of Applied Sciences, Goethe-Universität Frankfurt, Hochschule Darmstadt, Hochschule RheinMain sowie der Technische Universität Darmstadt. Studierende mit Zuwanderungsgeschichte der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz können an nicht vollständig ausgebuchten Angeboten partizipieren.

Als Personen mit Zuwanderungsgeschichte gelten Studierende, die im Ausland geboren und nach Deutschland zugewandert sind und/oder Studierende, von denen mindestens ein Elternteil im Ausland geboren und nach Deutschland zugewandert ist und/oder deren Verkehrssprache in der Familie nicht Deutsch ist.

Der International Career Service Rhein-Main wird über ein Förderprogramm mit dem Namen „Internationale Potentiale nutzen – Übergänge vom Studium in den Beruf gestalten“ des Hessischen Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kunst (HMWK) im Rahmen des Europäischen Sozialfonds gefördert. Im Rahmen des Programms sollen primär Studierende mit Zuwanderungsgeschichte aus den den genannten Verbundhochschulen gefördert werden. 

Sollten die Kurse nicht ausgebucht sein, steht die Teilnahme auch Studierenden ohne Zuwanderungsgeschichte offen. Nach deiner Anmeldung wirst Du zunächst auf der Warteliste landen. Je nach Platz auf der Warteliste und bei verfügbaren Kapazitäten werden wir Dich kurz vor Workshop-Beginn zulassen. Bitte beachte, dass auch hier Studierende aus den Verbundhochschulen prioritär zugelassen werden.

Die Entscheidung, unsere Veranstaltungen online durchzuführen, beruht auf mehreren Überlegungen.

Zum einen sind wir ein Verbund aus fünf verschiedenen Hochschulen. Online-Formate ermöglichen eine gleichberechtigte Teilnahme für Studierende an allen Standorten.

Zum anderen hat die Erfahrung während der Corona-Pandemie gezeigt, dass Online-Formate von vielen Studierenden positiv aufgenommen werden. Sie bieten nicht nur Flexibilität in Bezug auf den Ort der Teilnahme, sondern ermöglichen auch eine bessere Vereinbarkeit mit anderen Verpflichtungen wie Arbeit oder Studium. Zudem erlaubt es uns, ein breiteres Spektrum an Referent*innen einzuladen, die sonst aufgrund geografischer Distanzen nicht hätten teilnehmen können. So können wir ein vielfältigeres und qualitativ hochwertigeres Programm anbieten.

An-/Abmeldungen und Verbindlichkeit

Ja, Deine Anmeldung ist verbindlich. Mit Deiner Anmeldung gehen wir davon aus, dass Du Dir den Veranstaltungstermin freihalten und am Tag der Veranstaltung digital vor Ort sein wirst. Dies gilt auch für den Fall, dass Du Dich gegenwärtig auf der Warteliste befinden solltest. Falls Du eine Veranstaltung nicht wahrnehmen kannst, verpflichtest Du Dich, Dich spätestens 6 Tage vor Beginn von einer Veranstaltung abzumelden.

Ja, bitte melde Dich ab, auch wenn Du auf einem hinteren Platz der Warteliste stehst. Die Warteliste ist ein Instrument, um interessierten Nachrücker*innen die Workshopteilnahme zu ermöglichen. Unsere Erfahrung zeigt, dass im Besonderen in den letzten zwei Wochen vor Veranstaltungsbeginn viele Abmeldungen eingehen. Entsprechend ist auch ein Nachrücken von einem hinteren Wartelistenplatz häufig möglich. Auch als Nachrücker*in unterliegst Du dem Sperrverfahren, d.h., wenn Du nachträglich in eine Veranstaltung rutscht und im Anschluss nicht kommst, werden wir Dich für ein Semester für das Veranstaltungsprogramm sperren.

Unsere Erfahrung zeigt, dass meist eines der drei folgenden Probleme die Quelle ist: Die Anmeldebestätigung und Hinweismails liegen im Spam-Ordner Deines E-Mail-Postfaches. Du hast  die Anmeldung nicht finalisiert, d.h., nach dem Klick auf „anmelden“ müssen nochmals die angegebenen Daten bestätigt („abschicken“) werden. Falls beide Probleme ausgeschlossen werden können, hast Du möglicherweise eine falsche E-Mail-Adresse bei der Anmeldung hinterlegt. In diesem Fall schicke uns bitte eine kurze Email (info@ics-rm.de).

In allen Mails von uns sind Abmeldelinks für die Veranstaltungen zu finden. Über den Link kannst Du Dich bis zu sechs Tage vor Veranstaltungsbeginn abmelden. Nach Ende der Abmeldefrist kann eine Abmeldung nur noch individuell per Mail (info@ics-rm.de) an uns erfolgen. Für die Abmeldung muss dann ein triftiger Grund (zum Beispiel Krankheit) vorliegen.

Eine Teilnahme an einer Veranstaltung ist für Dich nur dann sinnvoll, wenn Du mindestens 75 Prozent der Veranstaltungszeit anwesend sind. Falls Du das nicht garantieren kannst, melde Dich bitte von der Veranstaltung ab. Wir bitten am Veranstaltungstag um pünktliches Erscheinen, damit die Veranstaltung planungsgemäß beginnen kann. Zudem verfällt Ihr Anspruch auf einen Platz, wenn Du zu spät erscheinst. 

Bitte schicke uns zeitnah eine E-Mail (info@ics-rm.de) mit Angabe des Workshops (Titel und Veranstaltungsdatum!) und Deines Namens, damit wir Ihre Abmeldung bearbeiten können.

Grundsätzlich hast Du Dich verpflichtet, Dich bis zu sechs Tage vor Veranstaltungsbeginn abzumelden. Im Notfall schicke uns bitte eine E-Mail (info@ics-rm.de) mit Angabe des Workshops (Titel und Veranstaltungsdatum!) sowie Deines Namens, damit wir Dich abmelden können. Wir vergeben Deinen Platz dann an eine Person auf der Warteliste.

Vermutlich wurdest du gesperrt, weil du unentschuldigt bei einem Workshop gefehlt hast. Falls du den Grund der Sperrung nicht nachvollziehen kannst, schreib uns eine kurze E-Mail ( info@ics-rm.de).

Wir erhalten sehr viele Abmeldemails von Studierenden. Deine E-Mail-Abmeldung wird von uns vermerkt und du wirst dann nicht auf die Sperrliste gesetzt. Bitte hab Verständnis dafür, dass wir nicht auf jede Abmelde-Mail eine individuelle Rückmeldung geben.

Im Wesentlichen existiert die Sperrliste aus zwei Gründen: Wir wollen Fairness sicherstellen und unsere Ressourcen optimal nutzen.

Wenn Studierende zu Workshops und Vorträgen – trotz Anmeldung – nicht erscheinen, haben Personen auf der Warteliste keine Möglichkeit mehr, später in die Veranstaltung nachzurücken. Gerade vor dem Hintergrund, dass häufig viele Anmeldungen für eine Veranstaltung vorliegen, empfinden wir ein unentschuldigtes Fernbleiben als hochgradig unsozial gegenüber anderen Studierenden.

Unsere Veranstaltungen können von Studierenden kostenlos besucht werden. Bei uns entstehen jedoch Ausgaben, denn wir übernehmen die Honorare der Referent*innen. Bei Kooperationen mit Unternehmen kommen häufig zudem zusätzlich Kosten für das Catering hinzu. Wir sind daher bestrebt, eine möglichst optimale Auslastung unserer Workshops zu erreichen.

Ein Großteil der Studierenden verhält sich sehr umsichtig und versteht, warum wir ein Sperrverfahren einsetzen. Wir hoffen sehr, dass du es auch verstehst.

Nach dem Workshop

Die Zertifikate werden in der Regel innerhalb von ein bis zwei Wochen nach der Veranstaltung per Mail im PDF-Format an die Teilnehmer*innen verschickt. Wenn du den Eindruck hast, dass dies vergessen wurde, sende uns gerne eine E-Mail (info@ics-rm.de). Bitte beachte, dass du für die Ausstellung des Teilnahmezertifikates mindestens auf eine Anwesenheitsquote von 75 Prozent kommen musst.

Wenn Du eine Bestätigung deiner Teilnahme an einem eintägigen Workshop wünschst, schicke uns bitte eine E-Mail (info@ics-rm.de).

Bei der Vielzahl an Workshops in unserem Programm kann es bei dem Versand von Präsentationen zu Verzögerungen kommen. Wir bitten dich um ein wenig Geduld. In manchen Fällen sind uns zudem die Absprachen zwischen Kursleitung und Teilnehmer*innen nicht bekannt. Wenn Du den Eindruck hast, dass die Übermittlung der Präsentation vergessen wurde, sende uns gerne eine E-Mail ( info@ics-rm.de). Wir treten dann mit den Referent*innen in Kontakt.

Deine Rückmeldung ist uns sehr wichtig und wir behandeln dein Anliegen vertraulich! Lob und auch Kritik sind für uns ein wichtiges Instrument, um unser Angebot zu verbessern. Wende Dich gerne an das Team des International Career-Service, um deine Erfahrungen mit uns zu teilen ( info@ics-rm.de).

Die Frage können wir leider nicht beantworten. In jedem Fachbereich und Hochschule existieren unterschiedliche Regelungen im Hinblick auf die Anrechenbarkeit unserer Veranstaltungen. Ein kompetenter Ansprechpartner für diese Fragen ist Dein zuständiges Prüfungsamt.